Skip to content
Menu
Alert

All Linn-Mar schools are closed through the remainder of the academic year.

Click here for the latest LM news and family resources related to COVID-19.

Student Services Resources

This page provides a comprehensive list of resources available for families.

Student Services graphic6Financial Assistance:

 

COVID-19 Resources for secondary students:

  • Red Table Talk – Facebook link to 30 minute long video from motivational speaker Jay Shetty and psychologist Dr. Ramani share tips and tools for managing the emotional toll that’s been brought on by COVID-19
  • Red Table Talk – Facebook link to 1hr long video “What you need to know about cornoavirus”. Jada and Will Smith host a special family Red Table Talk to get straight factual answers to their questions about the Coronavirus.
  • National Public Radio (NPR) – just for kids comic exploring the new coronavirus
  • Teen Wellness Guide

 

Student Services graphic3

Talking with kids about COVID-19:

 

Supporting health and well-being for our Linn-Mar students and families:Student Services graphic5

Student Services graphic8If your child sees a therapist through Covenant Family Services:
Message for students that have been seeing therapists through Covenant Family Services school-based team, they are still seeing patients. Patients can either come into the Covenant Family Services office or do teletherapy. If you have not been contacted, please contact Covenant Family Services at 319-261-2292.

 

Community resources available to help anyone that is struggling emotionally:

  • Crisis Textline:  Text HELLO to 741741Student Services graphic4
  • National Youth Crisis Hotline:  1-800-442-HOPE (4673)
  • Iowa Help Line:  1-855-800-1239 or text iowahelpline.org
  • Iowa Crisis Chat:  www.iowacrisischat.org
  • Foundation 2 Crisis Line: at 362-2174 or use their chat line by clicking here.
  • Iowa Warm Line: Serving: Benton, Bremer, Buchanan, Delaware, Dubuque, Iowa, Johnson, Jones, and Linn Counties 1-855-800-1239 Chat: IowaHelpline.org  The warm line is a peer run, telephone based, non-crisis, confidential, listening line for anyone struggling with mental health or substance abuse issues. The Warm Line is staffed by people who have been through a similar journey and are in recovery themselves

Student Services graphic1

Student Services graphic2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Student Services graphic7

 

Linn-Mar Contact Information

Every school counselor and student assistance counselor is available to support students during this time.  Please feel free to reach out to them via email to set up a time to talk.  If your family is in need for reaching community support and/or resources, please contact our Family Resource Specialist, Katie Smith.

School Building – District Job Role Name Email
District-wide Family Resource Specialist Katie Smith katie.smith@linnmar.k12.ia.us

 

School Building – Elementary Job Role Name Email
Echo Hill, Linn Grove, Indian Creek, Novak Student Assistance Specialist Jacob Young, JR jacob.young@linnmar.k12.ia.us
Westfield, Bowman Woods, Wilkins Student Assistance Specialist Tammy DeVries tamara.devries@linnmar.k12.ia.us
Indian Creek School Counselor Laura James laura.james@linnmar.k12.ia.us
Linn Grove School Counselor Kathryn Knudson KKnudson@linnmar.k12.ia.us
Bowman Woods School Counselor Sally Wiley swiley@linnmar.k12.ia.us
Echo Hill School Counselor Deb Bundy DBundy@linnmar.k12.ia.us
Novak School Counselor Cris Southwood CSouthwood@linnmar.k12.ia.us
Westfield School Counselor Kasi Shanahan kshanahan@linnmar.k12.ia.us
Wilkins School Counselor Nick Mohwinkle NMohwinkle@linnmar.k12.ia.us

 

School Building – Middle  Job Role Name Email
 Oak Ridge Student Assistance Specialist Jessica Deahl  JDeahl@linnmar.k12.ia.us
  Oak Ridge  School Counselor Kimberly Woods  kwoods@linnmar.k12.ia.us
  Oak Ridge  School Counselor Victoria Wanda  vwanda@linnmar.k12.ia.us
  Excelsior  School Counselor Lindsey Starmer  LStarmer@linnmar.k12.ia.us
 Excelsior Student Assistance Specialist Mike Shipley  MShipley@linnmar.k12.ia.us
 Excelsior   School Counselor Erin Gorman  egorman@linnmar.k12.ia.us
 Excelsior   School Counselor Margaret Buonadonna MBuonadonna@linnmar.k12.ia.us

 

School Building – High School Job Role Name Email
 High School  Student Assistance Counselor  Kevin McCauley KMcCauley@linnmar.k12.ia.us
 High School  Student Assistance Counselor  Janessa Walters jwalters@linnmar.k12.ia.us
 High School  Student Assistance Counselor  Lisa Mooney LMooney@linnmar.k12.ia.us
 High School Academic Success Counselor  Tony Nicol anthony.nicol@linnmar.k12.ia.us
 High School Academic Success Counselor  Danielle Patterson dpatterson@linnmar.k12.ia.us
 High School School Counselor 9/10  Greg Hall (A-G)  GHall@linnmar.k12.ia.us
 High School School Counselor 9/10  Pete Martin (H-M)  pmartin@linnmar.k12.ia.us
 High School School Counselor 9/10 Sheryl Cline (O-Z)  scline@linnmar.k12.ia.us
 High School School Counselor 11/12  Dave Kennedy (A-G)  DKennedy@linnmar.k12.ia.us
 High School School Counselor 11/12 Jennifer Thurston (H-M)  jthurston@linnmar.k12.ia.us
High School School Counselor 11/12 Elizabeth Kreher (O-Z) ekreher@linnmar.k12.ia.us