

### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

**Contact:** Questions about your state's delegates, alternates or state selection process: Mr. Brad Niebling at brad.niebling@iowa.gov or (515) 725-7842.

For general information about the United States Senate Youth Program: Program Director Ms. Rayne Guilford at rguilford@hearstfdn.org or (800) 425-3632.

# Iowa Students Selected for United States Senate Youth Program Students to Participate in the First Online Program and to Receive \$10,000 Scholarship

**February 22, 2021, Washington, D.C.** —The United States Senate Youth Program (USSYP) announces that high school students Mr. Alexander Joseph Drahos and Ms. Jillian Alexa Manternach will join Senator Charles Grassley and Senator Joni K. Ernst in representing Iowa during the 59th annual USSYP Washington Week, to be held March 14 — 17, 2021. Alexander Drahos of Cedar Rapids and Jillian Manternach of Dubuque were selected from among the state's top student leaders to be part of the 104 national student delegation who will each also receive a \$10,000 college scholarship for undergraduate study. Due to the pandemic, the 2021 program will break ground as the first-ever fully virtual Washington Week, and is designed to be a highly interactive and exciting education and leadership forum for the nation's most outstanding student leaders.

The USSYP was created by Senate Resolution 324 in 1962 and has been sponsored by the Senate and fully funded by The Hearst Foundations since inception. Originally proposed by Senators Kuchel, Mansfield, Dirksen and Humphrey, the Senate leadership of the day, the impetus for the program as stated in Senate testimony is "to increase young Americans' understanding of the interrelationships of the three branches of government, learn the caliber and responsibilities of federally elected and appointed officials, and emphasize the vital importance of democratic decision making not only for America but for people around the world."

Each year this extremely competitive merit-based program brings the most outstanding high school students - two from each state, the District of Columbia and the Department of Defense Education Activity - to Washington, D.C. for an intensive week-long study of the federal government and the people who lead it. However, this year, the program will be held online. The overall mission of the program is to help instill within each class of USSYP student delegates more profound knowledge of the American political process and a lifelong commitment to public service. In addition to the program week, The Hearst Foundations provide each student with a \$10,000 undergraduate college scholarship with encouragement to continue coursework in government, history and public affairs. All expenses for Washington Week are also provided by The Hearst Foundations; as stipulated in S.Res.324, no government funds are utilized.

Alexander Drahos, a senior at Linn-Mar High School, serves as the president of Key Club International. Key Club is the world's largest student-led service organization focused on increasing student volunteerism in 38 countries. He leads this 230,000 member organization and its international board of trustees, while managing 12 global institutional partnerships and international programming/events. He is also the vice chair of the State of Iowa Youth Advisory Council and the past public relations chair, where he worked to better broadband access in his state. Alex is his school's Young Democrats president and an accomplished cellist. In 2020, he received the Herbert Hoover Uncommon Student Award.

## UNITED STATES SENATE YOUTH PROGRAM

2021 Iowa Delegate Announcement FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

### Page -2-

Jillian Manternach, a senior at Dubuque Senior High School, serves as the treasurer of the Student Body, president of the National Honor Society, secretary of Key Club, a delegate for Model UN and a representative to the Iowa Youth Congress. She plays varsity soccer for her school and volunteers extensively in her community and nationally through The Farmlink Project, a national initiaive to fight food insecurity through repurposing surplus produce.

Chosen as alternates to the 2021 program were Ms. Elizabeth Saunders, a resident of Des Moines, who attends Roosevelt High School and Mr. Lucas Pierce, a resident of Nashua, who attends Nashua-Plainfield High School.

Delegates and alternates are selected by the state departments of education nationwide and the District of Columbia and Department of Defense Education Activity, after nomination by teachers and principals. The chief state school officer for each jurisdiction confirms the final selection. This year's lowa delegates and alternates were designated by Mrs. Ann Lebo, Director of Education.

During the program week, the student delegates will attend online meetings and briefings with senators, the president, a justice of the Supreme Court, leaders of cabinet agencies and senior members of the national media, among others.

In addition to outstanding leadership abilities and a strong commitment to volunteer work, the student delegates rank academically in the top one percent of their states among high school juniors and seniors. Now more than 5,800 strong, alumni of the program continue to excel and develop impressive qualities that are often directed toward public service. Among the many distinguished alumni are: Senator Susan Collins, the first alumnus to be elected U.S. senator; Secretary of Transportation and former Mayor of South Bend Indiana, Pete Buttigieg; former Senator Cory Gardner, the second alumnus to be elected U.S. senator and the first to be elected to the U.S. House of Representatives; former New Jersey Governor Chris Christie, the first alumnus to be elected governor; former Chief Judge Robert Henry, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit; former Ambassador to West Germany Richard Burt, former presidential advisors Thomas "Mack" McLarty and Karl Rove. Additional notables include former Lt. Governor of Idaho David Leroy, Provost of Wake Forest University Rogan Kersh, military officers, members of state legislatures, Foreign Service officers, top congressional staff, healthcare providers and other university educators.

Members of the U. S. Senate Youth Program 2021 annual Senate Advisory Committee are: Senator Tammy Baldwin of Wisconsin, Democratic Co-Chair; Senator James Lankford of Oklahoma, Republican Co-Chair; Advisory Members: Senator Thomas R. Carper (D-DE); Senator Christopher S. Murphy (D-CT); Senator Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ); Senator Ron Wyden (D-OR); Senator Richard Burr (R-NC); Senator Kevin Cramer (R-ND); Senator Mike Lee (R-UT) and Senator Roger F. Wicker (R-MS). Each year, the Honorary Co-Chairs of the program are the vice president of the United States and the Senate majority and minority leaders.

### For more information please visit: www.ussenateyouth.org