Skip to content

56 LMHS Students Selected for All-State Music

The Linn-Mar High School Music Department had a total of 88 students audition for an opportunity to perform within the 2021 Iowa All-State Music Festival.

Of those students, 56 were accepted to either the Iowa All-State Band, Orchestra, or Choir.

There were 13 accepted to the All-State Band with 2 alternates, 24 string players selected to the All-State Orchestra with 1 Alternate, and 19 selected to the All-State Chorus with 1 Alternate.

Below is a listing by ensemble of the students accepted and those that are alternates.

All-State Band Accepted
Anna Kautz – Flute 2, Band – 1st Year, Senior
Shea Southwood – Flute 2, Band – 1st Year, Sophomore
Graedyn Morrissey – Bassoon, Orchestra – 2nd Year, Sophomore
Kayla Affolter – Clarinet 2, Band – 2nd Year, Junior
Madeline Nuss – Clarinet 1, Band – 4th Year, Senior
Evan Shanley – Clarinet 2, Band – 1st Year, Sophomore
Kaiya Taylor – Clarinet 1, Band – 2nd Year, Junior
Abbey Vezina – Alto Saxophone 2, Band – 1st Year, Junior
James Qualben – Cornet 1, Band – 1st Year, Junior
Nikhil Reuben – Trumpet, Orchestra – 3nd Year, Senior (1 year on cello, 2 years on trumpet)
Makoto Carolin – Horn, Orchestra – 2nd Year, Junior
Braeden Dupree – Trombone 2, Band – 2nd Year, Senior
Arjun Palaniappan – Percussion, Orchestra – 1st Year, Senior

All-State Band Alternates:
Aadarsh Kumar – 1st Alternate, Flute – Senior
Christian Maakestad – 2nd Alternate, Percussion – Junior

2021 Linn Mar All State Band











All-State Orchestra Accepted
Sam Greiner-Bass Senior (3rd Year)
Moosa Hamad-Viola Senior (3rd Year)
Michael Lemos-Violin Junior (3rd Year)
Celia Phillips-Cello Senior (3rd Year)
Lily Stevens-Violin Senior (3rd Year)

Rishi Ajoykumar-Violin Junior (2nd Year)
Avery Crow-Viola Senior (2nd Year)
Ella Gerber-Bass Junior (2nd Year)
Emily Greiner-Bass Sophomore (2nd Year)
Nathan Groezinger-Viola Junior (2nd Year)
Shreya Kulkarni-Viola Junior (2nd Year)
Ava Macek-Viola Sophomore (2nd Year)
Ella McCabe-Violin Senior (2nd Year)
Alex Resendiz-Violin Junior (2nd Year)
Melissa Wang-Violin Sophomore (2nd Year)

Katie Barnidge-Violin Junior (1st Year)
Rashaan Bryant-Violin Freshman (1st Year)
Clara Haker-Cello Freshman (1st Year)
Andras Haugen-Bass Sophomore (1st Year)
Eric Liang-Violin Freshman (1st Year)
Zoey Matis-Cello Sophomore (1st Year)
Amy Miller-Viola Sophomore (1st Year)
Richard Phan-Viola Junior (1st Year)
Lia Scharnau-Violin Senior (1st Year)

All-State Orchestra Alternates:
Bella Littler-Cello – Senior

2021 Linn Mar All State Orchestra











All-State Chorus Accepted
Caleb Brock- Senior Bass- 3rd year
Hanna Langley- Senior Alto- 2nd year (1 year on flute, 1 year as a vocalist)
LeRoy Wilson- Senior Tenor- 3rd year
Makenna Budke-Senior Alto- 2nd year
Saylor Botsford- Senior Alto- 1st year
Sophie Good- Senior Soprano- 3rd year
Whitney Jensen- Senior Soprano- 2nd year
Kate Flugstad- Junior Alto- 2nd year
Brielle Anderson- Junior Soprano 1st year
Ryan Koffron- Junior Bass- 1st year
Emily Fredin- Junior Alto- 1st year
Owen Schlesinger Junior- Bass- 1st year
Grant Gallaway Junior- Tenor- 1st year
Tejas Gururaja Junior- Tenor- 3rd year (2 years on violin, 1 year as a vocalist)
Gavin Thierer Junior- Bass- 1st year
Kamryn White Sophomore- Alto- 1st year
Timothy Laubach Sophomore- Tenor- 1st year
Dylan Ascher Sophomore- Tenor- 1st year
Jacob Jensen Freshman- Tenor- 1st year

All-State Choir Alternates:
Lucas Rabe-Bass Sophomore

2021 Linn Mar All State Choir


The 75th Annual Iowa All-State Music Festival will be held at Hilton Coliseum in Ames on November 20th at 7:30 PM.




The event is sold out, however, Iowa PBS will air a broadcast of the concert on Thanksgiving night at 7:00 PM.