Skip to content

REMINDER: There will be NO SCHOOL at Linn-Mar on Friday, March 31 or Monday, April 3. 

Professional Development Days.

LIONS Awards

Linn-Mar Community School District’s Recognition and Awards Program serves to highlight the excellence that exists in all areas including service and job functions across the school district by rewarding the accomplishments and achievements of our staff, community partners, and colleagues.

Linn-Mar chooses to recognize and reward work and behaviors that support/further the mission, goals, values, and initiatives of the Linn-Mar Community School District.

Nominees must have made a significant impact at Linn-Mar as well as meet the respective criteria for selection. Employees, community partners, and colleagues may be nominated by anyone in the district by their respective school, department, or members of the community.

Each school year, nominations are accepted for the LIONS and Volunteer Awards beginning in late February. A completed nomination form, cover letter (not to exceed one page) written by the nominator and up to three letters of recommendation are due to Human Resources by early March.

L – Living Legend Award for Excellence in Leadership
I – Innovator Award for Excellence in Positive Change
O – Optimizer Award for Excellence in Teamwork
N – Newcomer Award for Excellence in New Ideas
S – Service Award for Excellence in Superior Performance
Lion Pride Award – Going the Extra Mile
The Shirley Pantini Award

Award descriptions, instructions, and a nomination form can be found in the Recognition and Rewards Program packet 

Questions, including specific information for the current year, may be directed to Casey Fasselius at 447-3009 or


The 2022 LIONS and Volunteer Awards recipients:

Living Legend: Carol O’Donnell
Living Legend: Kelly Trier
Innovator: Cyndi Hofstetter
Optimizer: Polly Monaghan
LION Pride: Ginger Halverson
Above and Beyond Volunteer Award – Kerry Smith
Above and Beyond Volunteer Award – Stephanie Meier
Newcomer Volunteer Award – Morgan Yarker

Lions and Volunteer winners 2022

Previous LIONS Award Honorees:

  • 2021 – Sue Atwater, Travis Axeen, Victoria Wanda, Sondra Nelson, Peg Hansen, Vince Klopfenstein
  • 2020 – Lisa Mooney, Erin Watts, Kelly Trier, Phil Miller, Katie Smith, Michael Brandt, Donna Bean, Kristi Hicks
  • 2019 – Steve King, Julie White, Debra Barry, Amy Tristano, Todd Goodell
  • 2018 – Tom Daubs, Bobby Kelley, Marilee McConnell, Sandy Schneekloth, and Sean Smith
  • 2017 – Nadine Grieder, Rachelle Haker, Sara Hofer, Brian Johnson, Karla Koenen, and Keith Ponto
  • 2016 – Paul Knapp, Susan Knight, and Kara Larson
  • 2015 – Sherri Condon, Dave Dunning, Dirk Halupnik, Ed.D., Andrew Lyons, Katie Mulholland, Ed.D., and Francis “Fuf” Renfer
  • 2014 – Tina Monroe, Barb Ritter, and Ann Stark
  • 2013 – Kathy Leonard, Dan Niemitalo, and Jackie Wellborn
  • 2012 – Carole Raver, Angelina Ungs, Gary Warner, and Wes Windham
  • 2011 – Brett Henry, Jennifer Porter, Shawn Sandersfield, Elizabeth Wilson, and Jerry Van Dyke
  • 2010 – Bob Crawford, Larry Gass, Marc McCoy, Ph.D., and Jim Teahen
  • 2009 – Leigh Ann Cleland, Norm Northup, Catherine Spencer, and Mike Shipley
  • 2008 – Steve Bartlett, Karla Brown, Kevin McCauley, Karen McDonnell, and Diana Zrudsky
  • 2007 – Shannon Bisgard, Bev Headington, and Erik Miles
  • 2006 – Jim Brust, Charlie Kress, Pat Kress, Madelyn Olson, Cecilia Parks, and Clark Weaver
  • 2005 – Norm Grimm and Joe North
  • 2004 – Steve Colton and Lavern Gibbs
  • 2003 – Rosanne Altenhofen, Jim Hard, Harry Hakanson, and Dr. Joe Pacha,
  • 2002 – Diane Beach, Joan Fishburn, Normajean Grabau, Mary Ann Meyerhoff, and Carlyn Wessel
  • 2001 – Karma Bailey, Jim Green, and Suanne Huffman
  • 2000 – Pete King, Dale Monroe, and Nick Spencer
  • 1999 – Terri Elgin, Carol Maloy, and Elwyn Maloy
  • 1998 – Alyce Lowe, George Lowe, Barb Mead, and Bob Stephens
  • 1997 – Ellen Bruckner, Nevin Roberts, and the Linn-Mar Booster Club
  • 1996 – Darrell Dicken and Paula Grady
  • 1995 – Shirley Pantini and Dennis Selness
  • 1994 – John Corkery, Dr. Carolyn Heitz, and Dave Etzel
  • 1993 – Glen Easterday and Rudy Novak
  • 1992 – Swati Dandekar, Barb Edwards, Jim Edwards, and Lawrence Shroeder
  • 1991 – Betty Becker, Lumir Dostal, Merna Moore, and Dorothy Thompson
  • 1990 – Marilyn Finn and Marilyn Sippy