Skip to content

Contest Speech Makes a Strong Showing at State

The Linn-Mar Speech Team was represented by ten large group entries in the second round of competition this season. The Iowa High School State Speech Association’s state contest for the southeast district was held at Cedar Rapids Washington High School on Saturday, February 4th. Eight of the Linn-Mar entries represented the Varsity Team and two were from the Freshmen Team.

The following groups achieved the highest rating possible. They were given a Division I rating by a trio of judges.

Ensemble Acting-Empathy Cheyenne Mann, Erin O’Hara, Katie Hidlebaugh and Sierra Christianson
TV News-Crayon Tyme Cody Lorenz, Jasmine Aquino, Jonathan Issa, Libby Moore, NellMari Barrios, Tia Lawrence and Tyler Vivian.
Reader’s Theatre-The Empty Chair Cameron Wehmeier, Colleen Luksetirch, Emma Geneser, Emma Thompson, Isabella Dix, Moriah Tedrow, Olivia Dickson
Radio Broadcast KUFO Erica Peck, Jeff Elmer, Katie Hidlebaugh, Libby Moore, Luke Poellet, Melaena Holm, Tia Lawrence
Short Film-Silence Alex Beaumier, Allie Mersch, Cody Lorenz, Erica Peck, Harrison Langfitt, John Herschberger, Luke Poellet, Tyler Vivian.

The following groups received a Division I from two of the judges and a Division II from the third judge. This results in a Division I rating overall. 

Freshmen Radio KKAT Alexander Pfaff, Cael Donels, Cael Sleezer, Ian Aquino, Isha Kalia, Kyle Kacena, Maddie DeJong and Zach Fontana
Short Film-Trick or Seat Alex Brown, Imani Lightfoot, James Hecht, Jeff Elmer, Lee Hensley, Nick Miller, Stephan Barksdale.

2017 LMHS Freshman Contest Speech Radio Broadcasting Team and Coach Kevin Fry

2017 LMHS Contest Speech Freshman Radio Broadcasting Team and Coach Kevin Fry


Special Note:

Next year, Linn-Mar High School will have the honor of hosting the State Large Group Speech Contest on Saturday, February 3rd, 2018.

If you would like to help out with this event, contact Ann Fry, Varsity Speech Coach.