Skip to content

L-M 5th and 6th Grade Band Students Selected to Young Musicians Honor Band

On Saturday, February 18, thirteen 5th Grade Band students, and six Oak Ridge Middle School 6th Grade Band students will participate in the 2017 “Young Musicians Honor Band” hosted by Prairie Creek Intermediate School. Randy Atkinson, from Cedar Rapids, will direct the 132 member 1st year Band, and Linda Johansen, from West Union, will direct the 132 member 2nd year Band. Students from over 50 Iowa schools will participate. The students rehearse all day and give a concert in the Prairie HS Concert Hall at 4:30 PM.

5th Grade students selected are: Shea Southwood – Flute, Evan Shanley – Clarinet, Elly Shipley – Clarinet, Riya Anand – Alto Sax, Kyle Ward – Cornet, Danica Kallas – French Horn, Emmarie Dart – Trombone, Louis Gustason – Trombone, Lucas Rabe – Trombone, Elisa VonBehren – Baritone, Ethan Crawford – Tuba, Gabe Gates – Tuba, and Emily Greiner – Percussion.

6th Grade students selected are: Hannah Beckmann – Flute, Makoto Carolin – French Horn, Gavin Thierer – Trombone, Owen Madsen – Baritone, Madeline Thompson – Tuba, and Cameron Eltoft – Percussion.
Kevin Makinster and Stephanie Nuss teach the 5th Graders, and Stephanie Nuss teaches the 6th Graders.