Skip to content

Linn-Mar Students Celebrated for Safe and Healthy Leadership

Juniors and seniors from Linn-Mar Community School District and Marion Independent Schools were recognized by the Marion-East Cedar Rapids Rotary Club this week for their outstanding leadership and for making safe and healthy choices. City and school officials as well as parents joined the students for the luncheon meeting.

Marion Safe and Drug Free School

The program included remarks from Linn-Mar Counselor Kevin McCauley, who also leads the high school’s S.O.D.A. (Students Okay without Drugs or Alcohol) program, and Cindy Shipley, President of Marion-East Cedar Rapids Rotary. Linn-Mar Athletic Director Tonya Moe introduced the students for individual recognition, and the students were recognized by Marion Mayor Nick AbouAssaly and Amy Doerrfeld from Cedar Rapids Area Substance Abuse Council (ASAC).

Mayor AbouAssaly commended the students for their focus on healthy relationships, their persistence, and their efforts to live generously as members of the Marion community. Those Linn-Mar student receiving recognition included:

Grant Boddicker
Tessa Casebolt
Grace DeWitt
Ashlyn Chamberlain
Carter Dolphin
Larkin Hamilton
MacLynn Hannan
Jaihita Inturi
Frances Lausen
Delaney May
Amy Miller
Kane Naaktgeboren
Bennett Papendick
Sophia Yerke

Thank you, students, for your commitment to building a safe and drug free future for yourselves and others!