Skip to content

Lions State Semifinalist Team Honored

Members from Linn-Mar’s 1975 state-semifinalist football team served as honorary captains at Friday’s Homecoming game and took part in the coin toss. The team boasted a record of 9-2 for their season and went on to become the East Central Iowa Conference Champs and to finish the year as the state semifinalists.

At Friday’s game, the Lions were led onto the field by Linn-Mar Hall of Famer Arnold “Tex” McCoy. Coach McCoy led the Lions from 1974-1978 and compiled an overall record of 36-11.

Coach McCoy was joined on the field by members of the 1975 team from the classes of 1976 and 1977.

Class of 1976:

  • Captain Von Hollingsworth
  • Captain Scott Hanson
  • Steve Arnold
  • Ken ArthurCoin Toss midfield at football game
  • Brian Barnes
  • Phil Bishop
  • Jack Chambers
  • Dan Hartung
  • Dan Kosmach
  • Mark Lamb
  • Brad Reid
  • Mike Richardson
  • Mark Sanders
  • Bob Sindelar
  • Bret Vesey

Class of 1977:

  • Scott Brenneman
  • Jeff Kriegel
  • Mike Martin

The 1975 championship team honored Coach McCoy and his wife, Linda, for the impact they made to the lives of student-athletes on and off the field, as well as in and out of the classroom. Their passionate dedication to excellence and exemplary leadership and their clear devotion to developing leaders of character went far beyond the football season, having a lifelong impact on the lives of everyone they touched.

In honor of the McCoys, the team presented a donation to the Linn-Mar School Foundation in the amount of $1,000, to help further the traditions of excellence the team was fortunate to be a part of at Linn-Mar High School!