Skip to content

LMHS Students Receive Uncommon Student Award

Saturday, October 31, was a special day for Linn-Mar High School seniors Alex Drahos and Elizabeth Low. They and thirteen other students from across Iowa presented their work as Uncommon Students. The Uncommon Student Scholarships are presented each year by the Herbert Hoover Presidential Foundation.

Each selected student creates a service project in their community and receives a $1,500 award for their work. Elizabeth was one of four students who earned an additional $10,000 scholarship.

Elizabeth Low receives Uncommon Student Award.

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, their presentations were open to a wider audience this year. Each one was recorded to the Hoover Presidential Foundation Facebook page –

Here are the presentation times from the event.
9:00 a.m. Welcome: Jerry Meis, USA Committee, Hoover Presidential Foundation
9:15 a.m. Blythe Kelly*
9:35 a.m. Hannah Pautz
9:55 a.m. Harmony Barrick

10:15 a.m. Alexander Drahos
10:50 a.m. Kennedy Bombei

11:15 a.m. Abigail Adkison
11:35 a.m. Corben Pilch
11:55 a.m. Elizabeth Low

1:15 p.m. Tatelyn Schultz
1:35 p.m. Parker Johnson
1:55 p.m. Garrett Meyer

2:15 p.m. Emalyn Foster
2:55 p.m. Dorothy Junginger

3:15 p.m. Jack Chism
3:35 p.m. Emma Thompson

4: 30 p.m. Award Ceremony

**Announcement of the Mariah Becker Volunteer Leadership Award

Announcement of $10,000 scholarships

Each student will be presented a check for $1,500 at the end of their presentation

*Presented on a private video platform, this presentation will be recorded and uploaded to Facebook at a later time.
**Chosen in advance by the USA Alumni and USA Trustee Committee