Skip to content

New Linn-Mar Leadership Team Members Start July 1

Please join us in welcoming three new leaders to the Linn-Mar Community School District.

Chris Fechner joins Linn-Mar as the high school’s new associate athletic director. Chris most recently worked as an engagement specialist with Jefferson High School in Cedar Rapids. Chris also has worked as a teacher, athletic director and middle school principal with school districts in South Dakota. Chris has been head coach for boys and girls basketball teams in both Cedar Rapids and South Dakota. Chris has a bachelor’s of science degree in elementary education from the University of South Dakota and a master’s degree in educational administration from the University of Sioux Falls. He also holds the rank of First Sergeant in the Iowa Army National Guard. Chris will replace Jay Lehman, who has accepted a principal role at Bowman Woods Elementary.

Jay Lehman will join Bowman Woods Elementary as building principal. Jay has supported a variety of administrative, coaching and teaching roles at Linn-Mar. Most recently Jay has worked as the associate athletic director at Linn-Mar High School. He also has worked as an activities director, a health and physical education teacher, a school administrative manager, and helped coach high school football at the Linn-Mar district. Jay has master’s degrees in educational leadership from Drake University and in the arts of teaching from Coe College. He also has a bachelor’s degree from Upper Iowa University in physical education. Jay will replace Tina March who retired from the position last school year.

Abbie Parker will join Linn-Mar High School as its new associate principal. Abbie most recently served as a principal at Franklin Middle School with the Cedar Rapids Community School District. She also worked for three years as the Linn-Mar High School dean of students, and as a classroom teacher with the Alburnett Community School District. Abbie has a master’s degree in educational administration from the University of Northern Iowa and a bachelor’s degree in secondary mathematics education from the University of Northern Iowa. Abbie will replace Kim Buelt who retired from the position last school year.

Chris, Abbie and Jay begin their new roles July 1, 2024.