Skip to content

OPUS ‘17 to Include Many Linn-Mar Vocalists

45 Linn-Mar vocalists are among only 720 from the entire state, selected to take part in OPUS ‘17 next month in Ames.

The Iowa Choral Directors Association sponsors the event. It is made up of four honor choirs of 180 voices each. They include a 5th/6th Grade Select Honor Choir, a 7th/8th Grade Bass Clef Honor Choir, a 7th/8th Grade Treble Clef Honor Choir, and a 9th grade Mixed Honor Choir.

Selected Linn-Mar students include:

Elementary Schools: Josie Brown, Audrey Fitzsimmons, Jacob Jensen, Jude Crandall, Lauren Castor, Kayley Harney, Ryal Hanson, Lilly Walker, Max Lightfoot, Lindsey Corner, Brynlie Peery, Callista Wise, Adora Spoor.

Middle Schools:  Caleb Brock, Owen Schlesinger. Maddie Nuss, Liberty Nyberg, Quinn Dunkle, Eve Christensen, Riley Cronin, Emily Brennom, Alaina Beck, Mara Kehrt, Rachel Dunnwald, Danica Kallas, Isaac Stanger, Kylie Wassmer, Sofia McLaughlin, Alyssa Newport, Dylan Ascher, Kaia Sjobakken, Kamryn White, Ava Macek, Melia Bohn, Kaitlyn Johnson, Eleanor Junk, Hanna Langley, Frances Lausen, and Vivian Shanley.

9th Grade Participants:  Ella Crumley, Kaitlyn Brunson, Steven Madasu, Casey Walker, Matthew Tofanelli, and Cavan O’Hara.

The guest conductor for the 5th & 6th Grade Opus Honor Choir is our own, Jennifer Walker from Novak Elementary!

The selected students will spend Thursday, November 16th, rehearsing with their Honor Choirs. The day concludes with a 4:00 PM performance at CY Stephens Auditorium on the Iowa State University Campus.

Tickets to the event will be available through Ticketmaster. Tickets will go on sale starting Monday, November 6th at 10:00 AM.

Congratulations to these outstanding Linn-Mar vocalists!