Skip to content

Recognizing Linn-Mar Winter/Spring Athletic Accomplishments

Linn-Mar provides  an extensive offering of athletic opportunities for our students: as of Spring, 2024 the district had 1,413 students participating in a high school athletic program.

With so much activity happening it can be easy to miss some of the celebrations that happened throughout the year. Below we have summarized our district’s winter and spring athletes and teams for their recent accomplishments. This includes state champions, individual and /or team state qualifiers, conference championship teams, all-state selections/elite all-sate selections, conference, metro of conference coach of the year distinctions, or academic all-state winners.

*Please note that the spring awards are not yet complete at the time of this posting.


STATE – 4th place
Competition Team:
Lauren Bricker
Ashlyn Chamberlain
Sami Culver
Rachel Dunnwald
Allison Dvorak
Lena Ealy
Sydney Fischer
Abry Harrington
Ella Kline
Megan Smiley
Abigail Sutcliffe
Katelyn Wallrichs
Emma Welsh
Paige Wilhelm

All-State Honor Squad
Ashlyn Chamberlain-1st team all-state
Sydney Fischer
Paige Wilhelm


Girls Basketball

Tessa Casebolt, Morgan Like & Courtney Sinnock were Academic All-State
Tessa Casebolt & Dreya Kern were named to All-Region Team
Tessa Casebolt was named to All-District Team


Boys Swimming and Diving

State Qualifying Team – Finished 3rd place overall at State, and the swimmers qualified in 11 different events for State.
MVC Conference Champs

Honorable Mention All-State:
Mason Turner- 100 Yard Backstroke

2nd Team All-State
Luke Kelley- 200 Yard Freestyle
Hudson Huberg- 100 Yard Freestyle
Luke Kelley- 500 Yard Freestyle
Mason Turney- 500 Yard Freestyle
Parker Macho- 100 yard Breaststroke

1st Team All-State
Hudson Huberg- 3rd place- 50 Yard Freestyle
Parker Macho- 2nd Place- 100 Yard Butterfly

Ian Hoover-Grinde and Staff – Metro Coach of the Year


Boys Wrestling

9th Place Team Finish at State

State Qualifiers & Finishes

120 lbs- Malik Debow-5th Place
126 lbs- Nate Fish-8th Place
138 lbs- Aidan Ehlinger
144 lbs- Kane Naaktgeboren-State Champion
150 lbs- Grant Boddicker
157 lbs- Grant Kress-6th Place
165 lbs- Barrett Mieras
190 lbs- Phillip Jacobs
215 lbs- Griffin Schultz-4th Place

IWCOA All Academic
Kane Naaktgeboren

IWCOA All Academic-Honorable Mention
Malik DeBow
Grant Boddicker

Kane Naaktgeboren also received several individual recognitions including:

  • MVC Athlete of the Year- Valley Division
  • All Metro Wrestler of the Year
  • Des Moines Register first team all state
  • Gazette first team all state
  • National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dave Schultz Excellence Award for Iowa
  • Des Moines Register Wrestler of the year finalist– winner announced June 10th


Girls Wrestling

2024 State Qualifiers & Finishes
Kate Seery-6th place
Ava Hofer
Ally Jelinek (injured)
Reese Roberts
Bri Parke

IWCOA All Academic-Honorable Mention for Ally Jelinek


2024 ISDTA State & Soloist
1st Pom
2nd Jazz
8th Solo- Larkin Hamilton

2024 Regionals
1st Varsity Jazz
1st Varsity Pom
Best Choreography Judges Choice- Pom

2024 Nationals
Jazz- semi-finals- 11th place
Poms-Finals- 2nd place

Team Members:
Ayda Besler
Lexie Buresh
Grace Dewitt
Addison Fischer
Emma Giese
Reina Gilbertson
Larkin Hamilton
MacLynn Hannan
Peyton Kesinger
Lauren Lensch
Sophia McDonald
Sofia McLaughlin
Emmerson Middlekauff
Addison Milam
Juliette Miskell
Claire Muszynski
Bennett Papendick
Natalie Severson
Chloe Smith
Brooklynn Taylor

Boys Basketball

All-State Recognition
Davis Kern- 1st Team All-State


Girls Bowling

State Qualifiers
Ella Viers
Madalyn Leyse


Girls Track

MVC Conference Champs & Regional Champs
State Track & Field Meet Qualifiers (9th place)

200 Meter Dash- Sarah White (23rd), Abby Mecklenburg (18th)
800 Meter Run- Chloe Egbert (15th)
Shuttle Hurdle Relay- Tori sletteland, Mariah Young, Peyton Irons, Petra Sherman (15th)
4 x 100 Relay- Ja’Niya Crawford, Kaylee Bunn, Sarah White, Abby Mecklenburg (5th)
4 x 200 Relay- Sarah White, Brooklyn Guild, Kaylee Bunn, Maia- Denge-Hagen (7th)
4 x 400 Relay- Emerson McCormick , Chloe Egbert, Anna Sojka, Payzlee Shaffer (20th)
4 x 800 Relay- Anna Buchholz, Hailey Kozloski, Grace Meier, Shea Peddicord (20th)
800 Spring Medley Relay- Ja’Niya Crawford, Brooklyn Guild, Abby Mecklenburg, Maia Denge-Hagen (9th)
High Jump- Maia Denge-Hagen (STATE CHAMP), Claire Lorenz (10th)
Long Jump- Abby Mecklenburg (STATE CHAMP), Petra Sherman (16th)
Discus- Erica Kinn (20th) , Gwen Gaffney (12th)
Shot Put- Josianna Toingar (15th)


Boys Track

State Qualifiers- 19th as a team
400 Meter Dash- Beau Sonenstahl (18th)
4 x 200 Relay- Kade McCloe, Hunter Reynolds, Kade Jesse, Grant Crosen (20th)
4 x 400 Relay- Beau Sonensthal, Owen Hanson, Grant Crosen, Mason Hodny (13th)
4 x 800 Relay- Graedyn Morrissey, Ethan Boston, Ezra Crandall, Owen Hanson (12th)
Distance Medley Relay- Bryson Miell, Harrison Schuett, Beau Sonenstahl, Ethan Boston (21st)
Long Jump- Talan Sivertsen (6th)
Shot Put- Sam Watts (2nd)
Shuttle Hurdle Relay- Daniel Lorenz, James Wood, Terrell White, Justin Leemhuis (14th)
800 Sprint Medley- Kaden McCloe, Kade Jesse, Hunter Reynolds, Grant Crosen (20th)

Academic All-State-IATC
Graedyn Morrissey

Sam Watts-Shot Put

Elite All-State
Sam Watts- Shot Put


Girls Tennis

State Qualifiers
Emily Brandt & Maddie Harris-Doubles
Mallory Erickson & Andras Haugen- Doubles
Anna Schesinger-Singles

Boys Tennis

State Team-4th Place

State Qualifiers- Ind/Doubles
Malcolm Rice & Garrett Bauermeister- 2nd Place Doubles
Jake Wallrichs & Jackson Kramer- 6th Place Doubles


MVC Doubles Team of the Year
Malcolm Rice and Garrett Bauermeister

Coach Chris Wundram was named MVC Conference Coach of the Year!
Malcolm Rice & Garrett Bauermeister were 2nd team all-state


Coed Tennis

Maddie Harris/Garrett Bauermeister and Nic Carney/Emily Brandt played in State Coed Tennis Match in Marshalltown last Tuesday.


Girls Soccer

Qualified for the State Soccer Tourney- 9th time overall.

IGCA Academic All-State:

Rylie Bucklin
Tessa Casebolt
Jordyn Fillner
Emma Friedman
Addison Wiebold

All-Metro Keeper of the Year
Rylie Bucklin

All-Metro Player of the Year
Abi Roberts

All District for East side of the State in class 3A- Aubry Luck and Abi Roberts

1st Team All-State (for 2nd year in a row)- Abi Roberts


Boys Soccer

All-State Academic- Max Cassidy, Blake Whitlow, Seth Comer, Owen Havlik
2nd team all-state- Blake Whitlow
HM All-State-Devin Bormann

IAHSSCA- Blake Whitlow is playing for the East Team


Girls Golf

2024 State Team Qualifier
Morgan Rupp (Champ), Jayden Schumacher, Nina Mercure, Gabby Mercure, Amy Miller, Riya Anand

All-State Recognition
Morgan Rupp – 1st Team

State All-Tournament Team
Morgan Rupp- 1st Team

IGCA Academic All-State
Riya Anand
Gabby Mercure
Nina Mercure
Amy Miller

IGCA All District
Morgan Rupp

MVC Golfer of the Year-
Morgan Rupp

IAHSGCA – Player of the Year
Morgan Rupp

Coed Golf

Nina Mercure, Cam Potter, Gabby Mercure and Drake Miller played in the State Coed Meet in Indianola.


Congratulations to all of our Linn-Mar student athletes!