Skip to content

High School Musicians Selected for Honor Band

Nineteen students from the Linn-Mar High School Band Program have been selected to participate in the 54th Annual Northeast Iowa Bandmasters Association Honor Band Festival on Saturday, December 7, 2019. These students will perform in one of two 125-member select ensembles made up of high school instrumentalists from approximately 60 schools in Northeast Iowa.

The students will rehearse all day and present a concert at 7:00 PM in the Oelwein High School Gymnasium. Guest conductors for this year’s festival will be Dr. Danny Galyen from the University of Northern Iowa and Dr. Kevin Kessler from South Dakota State University.

The following students were selected for this honor:

Prem Kulkarni – Flute, 9th Grade
Aadarsh Kumar – Flute, 10th Grade
Samantha Mersch – Bassoon, 11th Grade
Kayla Affolter – Clarinet, 9th Grade
Madi Marcus – Clarinet, 10th Grade
Samantha Solis – Clarinet, 10th Grade
Kaiya Taylor – Clarinet, 9th Grade
Alex Miller – Bass Clarinet, 11th Grade
Abbey Vezina – Alto Saxophone, 9th Grade
Sam Vezina – Tenor Saxophone, 12th Grade
Peter Kamp – Trumpet, 10th Grade
James Qualben – Trumpet, 9th Grade
Moosa Hamad – Horn, 10th Grade
Scott Bellows – Trombone, 11th Grade
Braeden Dupree – Trombone, 10th Grade
Syler Bushlack – Tuba, 9th Grade
Kimmy Moore – Percussion, 10th Grade
Arjun Palaniappan – Percussion, 10th Grade

Congratulations to these very talented Linn-Mar musicians!