Skip to content

Middle & High School Musicians Selected for District Honor Band

Thirty-seven Linn-Mar musicians including eight students from Excelsior Middle School, ten students from Oak Ridge Middle School, and nineteen students from Linn-Mar High School have been selected to participate in the annual Northeast Iowa Bandmasters Association (NEIBA) Honor Band Festival on Saturday, December 2, 2023. Each of these students will perform in one of four select ensembles made up of middle school or high school instrumentalists from approximately 60 schools in Northeast Iowa.

The students will rehearse all day in Oelwein and present concerts in the Oelwein High School Gymnasium at 5:00 (middle school) and 7:00 (high school). Guest conductors for this year’s festival are Drew Balta (Sioux Falls, SD), Ryan Meyer (Denison, IA), Dr. Melissa Gustafson-Hinds (O’Fallon, IL), and Dr. Richard Mark Heidl (The University of Iowa). Music on the program will feature selections by several contemporary composers as well as traditional concert band music.

The following instrumentalists from Linn-Mar Schools were selected for this honor:

Excelsior Middle School:

Jack Anderson, Tenor Saxophone

Gavin Cheney, Percussion

Daniel Hoke, Trumpet

Hudson Kensinger, Bass Clarinet

Gracie Moore, Percussion

Connor Niemeier, Alto Saxophone

Grayson Roos, Trombone

Julianna Zolnowsky, Clarinet


Oak Ridge Middle School:

Drew Earnest, Trombone

Bode Frye, Euphonium

Gabby Hasan, Clarinet

Logan Lorenz, Baritone Saxophone

Cade Lorenz, Trumpet

Gus Masters, Bass Clarinet

James Mattson, Trumpet

Molly Ruehlow, Clarinet

Sophia Ryon, Oboe

Richard Weng, Flute


Linn-Mar High School:

Thanh Beech, Junior, Tuba

Kyle Earnest, Junior, Alto Saxophone

Kael Edaburn, Sophomore, Trombone

Ellenor Fredin, Freshman, Clarinet

Gavin Gates, Senior, Euphonium

Leah Glew, Freshman, Flute

Paige Harksen, Sophomore, Clarinet

Rania Hasan, Sophomore, Horn

Sutra Iyer, Senior, Trumpet

Caden Justus, Junior, Bass Clarinet

Teressa Laubach, Sophomore, Bassoon

Aaron Malget, Sophomore, Horn

Evie McInroy, Freshman, Clarinet

Molly McPeek, Sophomore, Alto Saxophone

Lily Miglia, Freshman, Flute

Maria Neihart Thielen, Freshman, Clarinet

Reese Peddicord, Sophomore, Clarinet

Khushi Reddy, Sophomore, Clarinet

Ewan Southwood, Freshman, Percussion

Congratulations to these student musicians!